Skip to main content

OC Go logo

TOC Recruitment

Recruitment Timeline

Each year, as terms of various members expire, a recruitment process is conducted to fill vacant positions on the Taxpayer Oversight Committee. This recruitment process typically takes place during spring with final selection in June. Recruitment will be taking place for openings in the First, Second, Fourth and Fifth Supervisorial Districts.

We are currently accepting applications and the Grand Jurors Association of Orange County (GJAOC) will be conducting interviews in May.

Apply Here

The First District consists of the cities of Cypress, Fountain Valley, Huntington Beach, La Palma, Los Alamitos, Seal Beach, Westminster, a portion of Garden Grove and the unincorporated communities of Midway City and Rossmoor.

The Second District consists of the cities of Orange, Santa Ana, Tustin, portions of Anaheim, Garden Grove, the unincorporated community of North Tustin.

The Fourth District consists of the cities of Brea, Buena Park, Fullerton, La Habra, Placentia, Stanton, and portions of Anaheim.

The Fifth District consists of the cities of Aliso Viejo, Costa Mesa, Dana Point, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Newport Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, portions of Irvine and the unincorporated communities of Coto de Caza, Ladera Ranch, La Flores and Rancho Mission Viejo.

Supervisorial District Map

Supervisorial District Map

Click on the image for larger view (PDF)

Who Can Apply for the Taxpayer Oversight Committee (TOC)?

Any Orange County citizen 18 years or older may apply to serve on the Taxpayer Oversight Committee. This is a volunteer position and no monetary compensation will be paid to committee members. Potential candidates will be reviewed on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Commitment and ability to participate in Taxpayer Oversight Committee meetings for a three-year term from July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2027. The committee will maintain time and meeting requirements. The committee currently meets bi-monthly.
  • Demonstrated interest and history of participation in community activities, with special emphasis on transportation-related activities.
  • Lack of conflict of interest with respect to the expenditure of the sales tax revenue generated by OC Go (also known as Measure M). All Taxpayer Oversight Committee members are required to sign a conflict of interest form when accepting appointment.
  • Currently elected or appointed city, district, county, state or federal officials are not eligible to serve.

How Are Taxpayer Oversight Committee (TOC) Members Chosen?

Taxpayer Oversight Committee candidates are chosen by the Grand Jurors Association of Orange County (GJAOC), which has formed a five-member Taxpayer Oversight Committee Selection Panel to conduct an extensive recruitment program. The panel screens all applications, conducts interviews and recommends potential candidates for membership on the Taxpayer Oversight Committee once a year as terms expire.

The GJAOC is made up of former grand jurors who have a continuing concern for good government and whose purpose is to promote public understanding of the functions and purpose of the grand jury. The GJAOC is a neutral body serving the interests of the taxpayers of Orange County. New TOC members are chosen by lottery from among the finalists at a meeting of the OCTA Board of Directors.

Taxpayer Oversight Committee members represent each of the five Orange County Supervisorial Districts and have been meeting regularly since 1991. The chairperson position is the elected/appointed Auditor-Controller of Orange County. Committee members are appointed to staggered three-year terms. The Auditor-Controller’s term coincides with his/her elected or appointed term.